help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

VanMeter wins 6th State Title

Editorial Staff | Published on 3/4/2024
Lester Van Meter won his 6th state title on tiebreaks at the 83rd Indiana State Championship & Chess Congress, held March 1-3, 2024 at the Marriott Indianapolis East. Equaling VanMeter at 3.5/5, but possessing inferior modified median tiebreaks, were Timothy Lim, Nathaniel Rockhill, and Harvey Hanke. All finished behind Tennessee grandmaster Alex Fishbein, who won the open section with a perfect 5/5 score.

The Reserve Champion (U1801) for the year is Matt Jacyno, who finished with 4.5/5, tying only with Vedant Maiti of Missouri.

The Major section (U2100) was won by Ashwin Iranian Prabhu Kumar of Ohio at 4.5/5.

The Booster section (U1500) was shared by Maxwell Chung of Ohio and Logan Priest, both with 4.5/5.

In the Novice section (U1200), Gary Sun prevailed with a perfect 5/5, the only other player besides GM Fishbein to escape the weekend unscathed.

More details and photos to come.

Event Crosstable

SwissSys Reports

Broadcasted Games

Tournament Details

2024 State Championship Photos
2024 State Championship Photos