help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

Mohamed Elshazly wins Blitz Championship

Lester VanMeter | Published on 2/24/2024
Thirty-seven players registered to play in the Indiana Blitz Championship held in Carmel, IN, and organized and directed by Nikhil Murugan. The new Champion is Mohamed Elshazly, scoring 14 points from the 10SS double Swiss event. He won his last five consecutive games to come from behind and edge out silver medalist (in a playoff) Reid Hanway and bronze medalist (plus top player under 1800) Daniel Rickert. Despite being swept by the eventual Champ in rounds 3 & 4, Rickert had run away from the field and led by 2.5 points(!) after round 16. Austin Patton (Jeffersonville) took the under 1000 prize in the 20-player Open section. The 17-player Reserve section was dominated by Parker Snowden and Suvan Vaddadi, who each scored 16/20. Snowden took the gold thanks to his sweep of Suvan in their individual match. Third place went to 8-year-old Abhiram Ashok of Zionsville.



2024 Indiana Blitz Champion Mohamed Elshazly (left), receiving trophy from ISCA President Lester VanMeter (right):

The playing hall, Carmel Christian Church: